Memoirs.

This is the final draft of Memoirs, an entry that I created 2 years ago. I rewrote it and now I’m submitting it along with my portfolio.

Our world is filled with objects from another time. Almost everything we see, hear, and feel are a remembrance of the past. It can represent the history from centuries ago, or it can be as personal as one’s own memory that brings them back to a specific time or place.

I dream of the future, the unknown, and from time to time the past. I think of times in my life I truly enjoyed. They are strong, every single detail is laid out for me to take in and smile about, at times it becomes too vivid and the realization that it is just a memory makes me wish it was real again.

It is a bitter-sweet thing really, while it is happening it is amazing, but when it is over, it can only exist as a faint memory. It is thoughts like this that make me want to live my life to the fullest. To live in the moment, not care about the past or future, and just make ‘now’ amazing. To gain experience; to assemble the pieces to who I am; to build my life.

What happens when it is all over though? Everything I do will be all but a memory; the good, the bad, the best days of my life, they will all end. In the bigger picture, what happens when I, myself, end? Will I be a memory? It is everyone’s role to make an impact, whether they know it or not. Will I be able to make an impact in someone’s life or better yet the world? Will my actions be remembered? The ones that will remember my last moments in this world, what will happen when they leave?

For that reason, it is my goal in life to create; to leave a mark. As Lord Voldemort in Harry Potter made Horcruxes to have his soul live on, I hope to live on through my creations with art and hopefully someday, architecture. While people die and memories fade, physical structures live on and get admired. Why architecture? It is their beauty that shapes the world around us, and I want to be part of that. To express myself in ways no paintbrush or pencil can, to build a larger-than-life representation of who I am, my ideas, and my dreams

­            ‘Something still exists as long as there’s someone around to remember it. ‘

– Jodi Picoult

Leave a Reply

